Language Log – 30th August

Hello, hello.

I didn’t get much done these past few weeks because a lot of things had been on my mind, and I was busy working, but I guess this is what I have for the week.

Korean:
– TTMIK Worksheet L2 l11~l20 done.
– Reviews on 한테, 한테서, etc.
– Listed down some grammar points I need to revise.

I think doing the TTMIK worksheets is a great practice for me. I realize that I’ve forgotten much more than I thought I would, so I jotted down those grammar points that I forgot. TTMIK is really good, but when the explanations are short, you would think that you’ve finished the lesson and don’t know what you’re missing. That’s where additional study aids come in, etc. I found a website for it, though! It’s funkorean4u and so far, it’s a great study aid for me. There’s even a grammar list for beginners, some reading section, etc.

Japanese:
I didn’t actually get much done for Japanese, but knowing that I’m just studying aimlessly, I decided to try studying for the JLPT N5 and N4. I contemplated on whether to take the test by December or not, since the deadline for the registration is just next week… but then, I decided not to take the test this year.

Why?

Well, it’s possible that I could study in time, but I don’t even know what’s going to happen in the future. I mean, my university starts in October-ish, and first semester might be hectic since I need to get used to a new environment and all. If I get into a university in another state, that’s even more problematic since the test will be held in the capital city. So… yeah.

I’m planning to study for JLPT N5 first, and then JLPT N4. Even though I’m not even sure when I’m going to take the exams, I’m still gonna try my best to study as if I am taking a test, because it’s more motivational that way. I read online that the N5 is pretty much just for self-satisfaction, and I’m aiming for a job in translating, so I’ll have to aim more but honestly, so what. But I figured that in July next year (if it happens), I’ll take N4 and then in December, I’ll take N3. And the next year, maybe N2 next. Who knows. I don’t wanna dive into everything all at once, but at least now I know of a structure of study, what and how to study Japanese, etc. Baby steps, eh. I wanted to buy some books because Kinokuniya is having a 10% discount on online sale right now but ahh.

With that said, I’ll be focusing more on Japanese than Korean for now. I’ll go back to Korean now and then, when I need a change of pace. It’s just that… recently, I feel like I’ve hit a brick wall for Korean, haha. I’ve studied for what, three years now? But I don’t see much progress. I keep seeing all the hangeuls but no matter what, I can’t understand them. The short sentences makes sense, yes, but the long sentences just make me… ugh. I know, I haven’t been putting all the effort so it’s natural to have such results, but it’s still very frustrating. I can’t even make my own sentences. It’s quite a bummer, honestly.

I guess that’s all for now. I told myself that I needed to rest today because I’ve worked too hard this week, but oh well. Maybe I should rest and unwind for real now. Here’s to hoping that my study for Japanese this time will be fruitful and fun. Go, me!

Thank you for reading and may we all have good days ahead of us. ❤

 

Leave a Reply

