Language Learning Log – 4th January

Hello, hello.

tumblr_nryitrynnu1takfzvo1_540

Hope it’s not too late to wish you guys a very Happy New Year! I didn’t get to post on the 1st of January, but anyway, I hope this year will be a wonderful and great year for all of us! Things don’t get easier, but I’m sure you’ll get stronger!

Also, I know, don’t say it. It’s been a very long while since my last ‘language learning log’, haha…. oh my god. I just started focusing more on learning languages now that I have the time, and I’m feeling happier than ever!

So, things done today:

  • Unlocked level 2 of WaniKani’s radicals and kanji!
  • 11-days streak for TTMIK Vocab on Memrise~
  • Finally started learning Korean numbers. (I know, don’t tell me.)
  • Translated level 1 dialogue script of TTMIK with 95% correct translations! Ahhh ❤

In case you can’t tell, yes, I’m very happy! It’s been such a productive day for language learning for me. Unfortunately I didn’t have the time to squeeze in some editing or script-editing for my projects, but I’ll probably be starting on them after this.

Being able to translate a whole dialogue (tran)script made me very, very happy, I tell you. It’s like a dream come true! I know, I’m not like 100% correct but this is like one hell of a milestone for me. Road to being a translator, I’m on my way! It’s very nice how I could actually see my progress now after studying a lot and never knew whether I actually got better at the language or not. Hehe.

I just knew that I actually skipped a few lessons on level 2 and didn’t notice it, plus I forgot most of what I’ve learned after level 1. I checked for notes on my Korean Notebook and was kinda… annoyed at my past self. I didn’t bother to copy the notes from my worn, old and finished notebook back then when I changed to a new one, and now I don’t have notes to look over. So it’s like I’m reviewing, when I actually I have to re-study the whole 20+ lessons. On the bright side, this is a good opportunity to strengthen my memories. So I guess it wasn’t so bad, ayy?

Also, friendly reminder (to myself) that you should never, ever skip the lessons on numbers in any language. I’ve read somewhere back then, that, “you’ll think that you’ll come back later to actually learn the material, when in truth, you never do”. That’s what happened to me, no kidding. If I knew the numbers, I would have been able to translate the script up to, like, 98%. Hahaha.

I guess that’s all, for now. I’ll try to keep this momentum for days to come, and hopefully this’ll go on for a long time! I’m trying to get language-learning as a daily habit, alongside finishing my tasks for projects. Been looking for the perfect app to plan my time but I guess nothing works. I’ve tried from habitbull to Forest app, nothing works. So if you have any recommendations, please do tell me! I’d like something that’s like Habitica, in which you can have a habit list so you can check it off everyday, and at the same time have a to-do list for other tasks due on the same day. Habitica sucks for me because I don’t like the interface, whoops. Picky Nadia is picky, yall.

So for now, I’ll stick to writing my plans on my (soon to be trashed) bullet journal. I need a new notebook though, that just have the perfect thickness with the perfect vintage patterns or style that suits my inner soul. Went to some bookstores with my boyfriend yesterday and didn’t end up buying any notebook as I planned, but I was grateful that he never complained how long I took to pick something out. He did ask “what kind of book actually suit your tastes?” but he never mentioned that he’s bored or anything. Sobs, I’m so thankful. Also by the end of the day we went to an arcade and had a duel on car-racing, and it was my first time playing it too. Guess who won? Me, of course. Haha. //insert a proud meme face here//

But I’m going to go watch Yowamushi Pedal the Movie this Thursday, and there’s a Daiso store nearby the cinemas so hopefully I’ll be able to find something there! Good luck to me, haha!

Gosh, this was supposed to be a language learning log and then it changed halfway, haha.

Thank you very much for reading, and see you guys in the next post! Have a wonderful week ahead, as wonderful as you are! ❤ Byeom~

 

Leave a Reply

